Paul Harvey

Paul Harvey, the news commentator and talk-radio pioneer whose staccato style made him one of the nation’s most familiar voices, died Saturday in Arizona, according to ABC Radio Networks. He was 90. I really enjoyed listening to him when I lived in the USA.
harvey-rect
He was known for his resonant voice and trademark delivery of The Rest of the Story, Harvey had been heard nationally since 1951, when he began his “News and Comment” for ABC Radio Networks.

He became a heartland icon, delivering news and commentary with a distinctive Midwestern flavor. “Stand by for news!” he told his listeners. He was credited with inventing or popularizing terms such as “skyjacker,” “Reaganomics” and “guesstimate.” Guesstimate I use every week!

6 thoughts on “Paul Harvey

  1. Oh I remember Paul Harvey so well….even from my childhood because my father, a farmer and construction worker, always tuned him in as we sat around the farmhouse kitchen table.  It brings back a lot of memories as Dad always enjoyed Paul Harvey.  I, too, still listened to him for years but with the lifestyle I lead now I just never have time to listen to the radio anymore or only when in my car.  I then tune it in to talk radio and listen to the good, the bad and the ugly!  Paul Harvey lived a very long life and I hope an enjoyable one!  How is the marketing business going in Japan?  Everything seem fairly stable?

  2. Wow….. and the Dow took another beating today.  Ouch….my husband’s retirement portfolio really took a beating recently.  I think he will be working way longer than he plans.  We hoped he could retire at 55 and he could fulfill his long life dream to farm fulltime.  I could really use the help too as I have had at least partial Diagnosis from Vanderbilt in Nashville (big as Mayo Clinic) and they really rock.  They don’t waste the time and have found I have Adrenal Insufficiency.  Doctors were going everywhere with this and even thought maybe a carcinoid tumor.  Not that…thank God.   But will have an MRI on Wednesday there to see if I have a pituitary brain tumore (97% benign) and so the economy has me concerned.  We can’t afford for hubby to lose his job (he has worked for this company for 25 years and he makes a good living.)  The thought of going through a depression like my folks did really scares me to death.  The stories were awful and hunger was real too!  Glad you are still hanging in there in the marketing.  I worry about the Domino effect on companies.  Whe the big ones fail it just is like a house of cards.  Did you see the cool car the Japenese introduced.  It look so cool.  It is on my xanga page!

  3. I was a fan of Paul Harvey’s news every evening when I drove home from work….” the rest of the story”, and at 11:55AM when he would have some excellent piece of news to convey.  I was thirty two thousand feet up in the air, traveling from Dubai to JFK on Saturday, so didn’t know about his death. No wonder the flight was so turbulent with all those clouds around to welcome him, I suppose. 

Leave a Reply

